Grant Proposal Assignment

Screen Shot 2013-03-18 at 1.31.49 AM

I wasn’t going to be doing another update for a while, but after I finished this funding proposal assignment, I was quite proud of the way the aesthetics came out, so I decided to share. Everything was made in Microsoft Word, which is a first for me. I used to use Publisher (before it seems to have vanished off the market), then started using Photoshop and InDesign when college commenced. Mostly everything in the content is fictional, as Telus TAIWANfest seems to be quite a private event. I’m actually having a hard time placing it as a for-profit or not-for-profit organization, but went with not-for-profit since it seems to have been funded by Toronto Arts Council at one point.

Screen Shot 2013-03-18 at 1.32.46 AM

I’m not too extremely worried about the narrative content… unless I wasn’t clear enough on the objectives for the festival (which are made up). I feel like a lot of things were repeated, but I had a hard time finding samples of grant proposals and what other organizations tend to say about themselves; just followed notes from lectures to the basic concept and made stuff up based on what I felt like the festival served as when I attended.

Screen Shot 2013-03-18 at 1.33.55 AM

The budget is another story. I was able to find templates from festivals that lasted from 2 weeks to a month, but wasn’t able to find a 3-day festival. I couldn’t find specific rental numbers either, so I had to estimate based on the information I had. I assume Harborfront is more expensive, since everything in that area tends to be overpriced… but I’m not sure. I also didn’t know if participating artists/chefs, etc. were paid… or whether or not Telus sponsored their fees and transportation costs (or is Telus the applicant)? Anyways, I just assumed transportation was an in-kind donation, as I recall seeing a lot of WestJet and China Airlines logos everywhere. Following our ARTSIDEOUT proposal, the budget sheet wasn’t very detailed… so in order to make things simple and understandable, I didn’t make mine too specified either.

Leave a Reply

Outside Looking In

Select thoughts from beyond the Motherland

Liberated Traveler

Travel Photography Editing Services

Travel-Stained

Because Wandering the World Leaves a Mark

