Clafouti

This morning I took an hour’s stroll to a small cafe known as (according to Blogto) Toronto’s Best Croissant: Clafouti. Situated just across the street from Trinity Park, the garden-style seats were a perfect touch to the comfortable, English blue exterior.

I’ve heard raves about the almond croissant and how really any croissant was light and flakey, “as close to France as you can get in Toronto”. With that in mind, I was very excited to have purchased an almond croissant ($2.25) and a raspberry cresent ($2.25) to eat in the park.

Unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed. The croissants were definitely not light or flakey, but rather quite doughy although layer-y. The almond croissant was actually pretty heavy, but being as I’ve never had any other almond croissant, I can’t say if that’s how it’s supposed to be.

Raspberry croissant had an interesting taste, but again was quite doughy… almost as if it hadn’t been cooked thoroughly on the inside. They were also cold… but that’s because I went at 9AM when the store actually opens at 8. If you want the freshest batch, you should probably get there as soon as doors are unlocked.

Service was almost non-existent, but that’s kind of to be expected in a small cafe. When I asked the man what was popular, though, he didn’t quite seem to know. As I was checking out I also saw a fly land on the plate of croissants from which I had just purchased. All in all, it wasn’t bad, but in my opinion to say Clafouti is Toronto’s best croissant cafe is an overstatement.

Name: Clafouti

Address: 915 Queen St. West, Toronto

Price range: $2.25+, average

Cleanliness: 3/5

Service: 3/5

Taste: 2.5/5

Overall: 3/5

Recommendation: Probably wouldn’t come to mind as being a must-see

Leave a Reply

Outside Looking In

Select thoughts from beyond the Motherland

Liberated Traveler

Travel Photography Editing Services

Travel-Stained

Because Wandering the World Leaves a Mark

