Pacific Paranoria

After getting some business done in Markham, I took a stroll at the over-rated Asian mall, Pacific Mall. It’s basically a bunch of mini stores that specialize in cutesy Asian-style clothing, imported Japanese beauty products, and pirated DVDs.

Asians (I can say this because I am Asian) seem to have a tendency to be paranoid with people taking photographs of their stores. I had barely gotten in two snapshots of the outside of a store when a raging Chinese man came out and screamed at me, “Hey, hey! No peek-chore!”

I also felt uncomfortable as store-owners unnecessarily crowded my space as I browsed their products. Needless to say I left within two minutes.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Wow, very different than malls in the US.

    • Lol, well this mall is very different from the malls in the rest of Canada too. Pacific Mall is a version of Asian street booths; the rest of the malls look just the same as all the other ones I’ve been to in North American. =p

Leave a Reply

Outside Looking In

Select thoughts from beyond the Motherland

Liberated Traveler

Travel Photography Editing Services

Travel-Stained

Because Wandering the World Leaves a Mark

