A Festival And A Funeral

Walked over to the Harbor Front today to check out Telus Taiwan. It wasn’t as interesting as I thought it might be; just a demonstration of beef noodle soup-cooking (although the demonstration was really just the pouring of pre-made noodle into a bowl), and a couple of stands with random Asian products for sale.

My first attempts at cross-processing images fails.

Audience members served as judges for master Chef Hung and Chef Deng’s famous beef noodle soup. The other photographers were getting all up in their faces… and as a small-town freshman, I was reluctant to do so. Must learn to get into the crowd!

Asians are all for the freebies, huh? (No racism intended there, since I am Asian.) I grabbed myself a pamphlet for the day’s events, postcards, and a “Touch Your Heart Taiwan” magnet. I remembered watching its promotional video before I went to Taiwan last year.

Taiwanese eatery – of course! Prices were sky-high and the lines went around to Whosville, so I passed on trying anything.

The harbor where the festival was being held was gorgeous. However, it was a bit too sunny for liking (already got a major tan that I had managed to avoid all summer), so I retired early and am planning to return at night to catch some other shots.

There was a concert put on by some Taiwanese boy band that basically no one was listening to. Haha, I felt sorry for them… but they really didn’t sound too good.

Random Asian products up for sale.

Bikers enjoy a bowl of Beef Noodle Soup under protection of wall-shade.

When I headed home, the streets were blocked off and filled with people; it was politician Jack Layton’s funeral. Being completely politics-ignorant, I have no idea who Jack Layton is other than the fact that he was a politician. Judging from the mass of crying citizens, however, I would guess that he was moderately well-liked?

Confused? Me too. One photographer literally stuck his camera 2 inches away from their faces. It’s so different than the small town:

In Windsor, every time I took my DSLR out, people kept staring at me and dodged out of the way every time I put the viewfinder up to my face. But over here, there are photographers everywhere just snapping snapshots one inch away from people’s faces, and no one seems to care. Pedestrians stroll across the frame while I’m trying to take a snapshot too. I’m able to take the candid shots I like without being a physco-path, but I’m also still a bit afraid to shove my lens up people’s noses, if you know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

